The CSHEMA Innovation Award seeks to honor the innovative achievements of higher education institutions in three categories: process improvement, resource enhancement, and safety culture.


Process Improvement

This award recognizes:

  • Successfully designed or re-engineered program
  • Innovative method of training or educational course (e.g., seminars, online)
    • Number of attendees/percentage of required attendees  
    • Observable and quantifiable changes in behavior (e.g., 75% fewer needle sticks)  
  • Improving service delivery method in response to a campus need
Resource Enhancement

Recognizes EHS programs that have successfully reduced costs, increased revenues or improved environment, developed/created a sustainability initiative in response to a campus need. Consideration also given for measurable and documented monetary savings and measurable and documented reduction in impact to the environment.

Safety Culture

Recognizes institutional practices of faculty, staff, and students who are prompting a culture of safety. Information required includes:

  • Faculty, staff ,and student names and titles
  • How safety was incorporated into the project/program
  • Observable and quantifiable changes in the culture
  • Learning experiences that could be transferred to other Institutions and help facilitate others in this initiative


Individuals must be from a CSHEMA member institution in good standing. The CSHEMA primary representative must endorse the application.


Nominations should be made online. A separate nomination should be made for each award entry, and institutions may submit multiple entries. In addition to the basic information requested in the nomination form, please include the following in a PDF attachment (uploaded through the form):

  • Name, title, institution, and contact information of the nominee
  • Name, title, institution, and contact information of the nominator
  • Identification of which category the entry is for
  • A PDF summary narrative (no more than five double-spaced pages using a minimum font size of 12 points); screenshots and photos may be included if it helps the evaluator understand the effort

All providers for the creation and production of materials must be identified on the application. The submitter must be proactive in identifying who has participated in the creation and production of the submitted item. Deviation from this requirement may result in disqualification of a submission.

Submissions must be received by March 1 to be considered.

Submit Now


Members of the Awards and Recognition Committee and a representative from the Association of Public and Land Grant Universities will review entries for recognition. If the institution of an Awards and Recognition Committee member submits an application, the member shall recuse him/herself from evaluating and voting. The committee may choose to place an institution in one of three award categories: Award of Honor, Award of Merit, or Award of Commendation.

Recognition award will be presented to the recipient at the awards ceremony at the Annual Conference. CSHEMA will forward a letter of recognition to recipient, and the Association of Public and Land Grant Universities will announce the award winners at the Council on Research Summer Meeting.


Evaluation (100 Points Possible)
  • 0–20 points: Identification of a specific safety problem and what affect it has had (or would have had) on the institution
  • 0–50 points: Cost and method of implementation for the unique or innovative correction program and its cost effectiveness
  • 0–15 points: Organization and presentation of material for evaluation and review
  • 0–15 points: Applicability at other institutions