CSHEMA bestows the below awards and honors yearly.

Click on each award/scholarship below to learn more about criteria, eligibility and submission processes.


Dr. Fay Thompson Scholarship
CSHEMA offers a $3,000 scholarship (and a waiver to attend the CSHEMA annual conference) to encourage the study of environmental and occupational health, safety, and related disciplines. The program is open to all college undergraduate students who

  • Are enrolled in majors geared toward an EHS career (such as, but not limited to, environmental science, fire protection, health physics, industrial engineering, industrial hygiene, occupational health, safety, etc.)
  • Are registered as full-time undergraduate students in a 4-year degree-granting course of study.


Innovation Awards
Recognizes higher education institutions of each constituent type (community colleges, comprehensive and doctoral institutions, research universities, and small institutions) in three areas of business and financial administration: process improvement, resource enhancement, and safety culture.

Marketing & Communications Awards
Recognizes campuses that have implemented comprehensive marketing and communications programs, campaigns, or single media initiatives to promote EHS to their communities.

CSHEMA Laboratory Safety Week Awards
Seek to honor the efforts of higher education institutions in promoting CSHEMA’s laboratory safety week through marketing and engagement initiatives. Awards will be provided for each EHS department size (small, medium and large).  


Honorary Life Award
Granted to retired individuals who have made significant and meaningful contributions to EHS programs for at least 10 years as a member of CSHEMA.

Campus Leaders Who Care
Recognizes outstanding involvement and support of senior administrators for their understanding of how important environmental stewardship and health and safety issues are to their institutions.

Excellence in Volunteerism Award
Honors outstanding volunteer service to CSHEMA based on professionals' commitment and success over the last 12 months within the Association.

Rising Star Award
Recognizes those who are new to the safety field and making measurable change at their institution.

Safety Professional Award
The CSHEMA Safety Professional Award seeks to honor individual CSHEMA members who have made significant contributions in the field of safety.

Become a Member

CSHEMA is an institutional member-based organization. Institutional membership allows all those at a given school to receive member benefits.

Join Now

     22 Conf Cactus